Phone: (770) 787-1330 Fax: (770) 784-2950 Email:



The Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2013-2014 school level Teachers of the Year. Each teacher was selected by his or her peers as Teacher of the Year at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. As such, these teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2015 Teacher of the Year.

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, September 30 and Wednesday, October 1, each teacher will sit for a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, the names of the top three finalists (the teachers with the three highest combined scores) will be announced on Friday, October 3. The following Tuesday, October 7, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2015 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 16 at 4:45 p.m.

The Newton County School System would like to congratulate each of the school Teachers of the Year, as they are all worthy of this special honor. As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School, with the two runners-up each receiving a crystal vase. The 2015 Newton County Teacher of the Year will also receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2015 Teacher of the Year program: General Mills; Ginn Motors; Covington News; Apollo Staffing; Newton Medical Center; Bank of North Georgia; United Bank of Covington; SKC, Inc.; BB&T; Pattillo; Snapping Shoals EMC; Newton County Water and Sewerage Authority; Kelly Products; TPA Realty Services; Wagner Service Solutions; Tread Technologies Company; Newton Citizen; AT&T; Georgia Power; Newton Federal Bank; Beaver Manufacturing; Pinnacle Bank; Consolidated Copier Services; Pratt Industries; Bard; Newton College & Career Academy; The Center; Bridgestone Golf; and Choate Construction.

 East Newton Elementary
  Christina Crowe
 Fairview Elementary
  Yolanda Canty
 Flint Hill Elementary
  Dr. Sharon Darley
 Heard-Mixon Elementary
  Sandy Moseley
 Live Oak Elementary
  Velika Hurst
 Livingston Elementary
  Brooke Mote
 Mansfield Elementary
  Beth Coody
 Middle Ridge Elementary
  Allison Pittman
 Newton County Theme
  Kena Hudgins
 Oak Hill Elementary
  Allison Jones
 Porterdale Elementary
  Ken Meakins
 Rocky Plains Elementary
  Linda Smith
 South Salem Elementary
  April Burnfin
 West Newton Elementary
  Marci Scott
 Clements Middle
  Sandy Briscoe
 Cousins Middle
  Chris Andrews
 Indian Creek Middle
  Kenneth Hanson
 Liberty Middle
  Sharon Oliver
 Veterans Memorial Middle
  Christy Mortimer
 Alcovy High
  Michelle Finley
 Eastside High
  Monique Mitchell
 Newton High
  Chris Williams
 Newton College & Career Academy
  Heather Fuller


For more information on the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Viniard, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at