Phone: (770) 787-1330 Fax: (770) 784-2950 Email:


September 21, 2015

Pictured Front Row (L-R): Leigh Pickrell, East Newton Elementary; Angie Dean, Fairview Elementary; Allison Norman, Flint Hill Elementary; Donna Thompson, Heard-Mixon Elementary; Tarsha Williams, Live Oak Elementary; Winston Palmer, Livingston Elementary; Vanessa Carter, Mansfield Elementary; Lee Ann Gourlay, Middle Ridge Elementary; Kimberly Wilber, Newton County Theme School; Brittany Temples, Oak Hill Elementary; and Tameka Clark, Porterdale Elementary.

Back Row (L-R): Roxanne Estridge Hayes, Rocky Plains Elementary; Bo Holder, South Salem Elementary; Zandra Mapp, West Newton Elementary; Denise Walker, Clements Middle; Terry Badertscher, Cousins Middle; Amanda Angulo, Indian Creek Middle; Courtney Randle, Liberty Middle; Chandra Black, Veterans Memorial Middle; Kristen Bagwell, Alcovy High; Michael Poor, Eastside High; Marina Goddard, Newton High; and Kemily Pattillo, Newton College & Career Academy. 

The Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2014-2015 school level Teachers of the Year. Each teacher was selected by his or her peers as Teacher of the Year at the end of the 2014-2015 school year. As such, these teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, September 22 and Wednesday, September 23, each teacher will sit for a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, the names of the top three finalists (the teachers with the three highest combined scores) will be announced on Friday, September 25. The following Tuesday, September 29, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2016 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 8 at 4:45 p.m.

The Newton County School System would like to congratulate each of the school Teachers of the Year, as they are each worthy of this special honor. As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School, with the two runners-up each receiving a crystal vase. The 2016 Newton County Teacher of the Year will also receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2016 Teacher of the Year program: AT&T; Bank of North Georgia; BB&T; Beaver Manufacturing; Bridgestone Golf; C.R. Bard; Consolidated Copiers; Great Estates; Covington News; General Mills; Georgia Perimeter College; Georgia Power; Ginn Motor Company; Michelin-Tread Technologies; Newton College & Career Academy; Newton Citizen; Newton County Water & Sewerage Authority; Newton Federal Bank; Newton Medical Center; Pattillo Construction; Pinnacle Bank; SKC, Inc.; Snapping Shoals EMC; Sunbelt Builders; United Bank of Covington; Wagner Services; and TPA Realty.

2014-2015 Teachers of the Year

East Newton Elementary   Leigh Pickrell
Fairview Elementary   Angie Dean
Flint Hill Elementary   Allison Norman
Heard-Mixon Elementary   Donna Thompson
Live Oak Elementary   Tarsha Williams
Livingston Elementary   Winston Palmer
Mansfield Elementary   Vanessa Carter
Middle Ridge Elementary   Lee Ann Gourlay
Newton County Theme School   Kimberly Wilber
Oak Hill Elementary   Brittany Temples
Porterdale Elementary   Tameka Clark
Rocky Plains Elementary   Roxanne Estridge Hayes
South Salem Elementary   Bo Holder
West Newton Elementary   Zandra Mapp
Clements Middle   Denise Walker
Cousins Middle   Terry Badertscher
Indian Creek Middle   Amanda Angulo
Liberty Middle   Courtney Randle
Veterans Memorial Middle   Chandra Black
Alcovy High   Kristen Bagwell
Eastside High   Michael Poor
Newton High   Marina Goddard
Newton College & Career Academy   Kemily Pattillo

For more information on Newton County School System's Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Davis-Viniard, director of public relations, at