Phone: (770) 787-1330 Fax: (770) 784-2950 Email:


March 9, 2017

Mr. Zack Pitts, Alcovy High School; Joshua Yang, Alcovy High School; Caleb McGowan, Veterans Memorial Middle School; and Mr. NiQuan Alston, Veterans Memorial Middle School.

Click here for photo album of event.

The Newton County Schools' Career, Technical and Agricultural Education (CTAE) Department hosted the first, annual CTAE Student of the Year Awards on Tuesday, February 28, 2017 at the Porter Performing Arts Center.  The awards night was held on the last day of CTAE Month.

Overall, the awards event honored 47 school-level winners representing 11 program areas.  Those areas include: Agriculture, Business, CTI, Education, Engineering, Graphics/Video, Health Science, Marketing, Nutrition/Food, JRTOC, and Work-Based Learning. Students were chosen as school-level winners after having submitted an application, resume, essay, and also after participating in school-level interviews.  Once chosen, the school level winners then submitted their application packet to a county-level judging panel.  Another round of interviews was held to determine the county-wide program area winners and the overall county CTAE student of the year. 

Ms. Samantha Fuhrey, Superintendent of Schools, welcomed guests to the awards ceremony and the county-wide winners were announced by CTAE Director, Dr. Tim Schmitt.  The Work-Based Learning Employer of the Year award was presented to Strauss and Frost, LLC, by Ms. Debra Lary, Work-Based Learning Coordinator for Newton County Schools.

The awards night was a success due to the collaboration of several career pathways and their instructors.

The Newton College and Career Academy’s Culinary students and chef instructor served appetizers during the reception and the Eastside “Buds” floral design club provided beautiful floral arrangements with a Mardi Gras theme. The Construction pathway students at NCCA built props for the stage and the Audio/Video production program at NCCA recorded the event and assisted with stage lighting. 

Thanks to the dedicated middle and high school administrators and CTAE teachers, our students will be prepared for the 21st century workplace.

 We are proud to announce the following winners for this year’s event.

Career, Technical, and Agricultural Education Students of the Year


Middle School

Caleb McGowan

Veterans Memorial Middle School



High School

Joshua Yang

Alcovy High School



 Middle School CTAE Pathway Students of the Year


Business Education

Natalia Sanchez, Veterans Memorial


Caleb McGowan, Veterans Memorial

Family and Consumer Science

Jermaine Plunkett, Clements



High School CTAE Pathway Students of the Year


Agricultural Education

Emmalee Richardson, NCCA


Shekima Champagnie, NCCA

Business Education

Maggie Malcolm, Eastside

Career Technical Instruction (CTI)

Kayla Selmer, Newton


Kia Kilgore, Alcovy


Joshua Yang, Alcovy

Health Science / Biotech

Jessica Books, NCCA


Jeffery Vega, NCCA

Nutrition / Food

David Kendall, NCCA

Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC)

Macharia Belgrave, Newton

Work Based Learning

Allen Miller, Eastside