Phone: (770) 787-1330 Fax: (770) 784-2950 Email:


The Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2011-2012 school level Teachers of the Year. Each teacher was selected by his or her peers Teacher of the Year and the end of the 2011-2012 school year. Each of these teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2013 Teacher of the Year.

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, October 2 and Wednesday, October 3 each teacher will sit for a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, the names of the top three finalists (the teachers with the three highest combined scores) will be announced on Thursday, October 4. The following Tuesday, October 9, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2013 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 25 at 4:45 p.m.

The Newton County School System would like to congratulate each of the school Teachers of the Year, as they are all worthy of this special honor. As such, all 22 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School, with the two runners-up each receiving a crystal vase. The 2013 Newton County Teacher of the Year will also receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2013 Teacher of the Year program: Honda of Conyers; Bank of North Georgia; Charter Business, Contract Packaging, Inc.; General Mills; The Covington News; Ginn Motor Company; Snapping Shoals, EMC; Apollo Staffing; Current Events Productions; Integrated Power Solutions; Newton Federal Bank; SKC, Inc.; BB&T; Pattillo; Wagner Service Solutions;  TPA Realty Services; United Bank of Covington; Georgia Piedmont Technical College; at&t; Bridgestone Golf; Beyond Exterminating; Beaver Manufacturing Company; Newton Citizen; Georgia Power; Newton Medical Center; Triple Horse; Pinnacle Bank; Sunbelt Builders; Tread Technologies Company; Georgia Perimeter College; and The Oaks.


2012-2013 Teachers of the Year


East Newton Elementary   Julie B. Thompson
Fairview Elementary   Jessica Brown
Flint Hill Elementary   Connie Brickell
Heard-Mixon Elementary   Kimberly Aldridge
Livingston Elementary   Cris Pachura
Live Oak Elementary   Melanie Patterson
Mansfield Elementary   Jennifer Jones
Middle Ridge Elementary   Felisha Leggett
Newton County Theme School at Ficquett   Gidget Smith
Oak Hill Elementary   Lindsay Annis
Porterdale Elementary   Rachel Reis
Rocky Plains Elementary   Mary Jane Kessler
South Salem Elementary   Kim Malcom
West Newton Elementary   Yokita Byrd
Clements Middle   Linda Allemani
Cousins Middle   Sally Krieger
Indian Creek Middle   Vicki Meeler
Liberty Middle   Megan Stephens
Veterans Memorial Middle   Whitney Jackson
Alcovy High   Scott Rains
Eastside High   Trina Nickson
Newton High   Diana Brown

For more information on the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Viniard, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at 770-784-2908.