Phone: (770) 787-1330 Fax: (770) 784-2950 Email:


On November 2nd and 3rd three elementary schools from Newton County will participate in the Georgia Music Educators Association’s Statewide Elementary Honor Chorus.  This annual event is held at First Baptist Church in Jonesboro, Georgia.  Students that are selected to attend will rehearse and learned the music prior to the event.  They will gather with 500 students from across the state of Georgia for the group performance.  These students were divided equally amongst two choirs; the Vivace Choir and the Allegro Choir.  All Newton County students are part of the Vivace Choir and will perform the songs I Bought Me a Cat and Moses and Daniel arranged by Sally K. Albrecht, We Will Sing for Joy by Scarlatti and arranged by Lowe, and Pledge for Our Time by Richard McKeeBoth the Allegro and Vivace choirs will join together, along with their teachers to perform the final song titled Sing a New Song written and conducted by Sally K Albrecht.  Albrecht wrote the final song and dedicated it to the participants of this year’s event.

The students will be directed by Sally K Albrecht and Richard McKee.   Both clinicians are very accomplished composers and arrangers of choral music.  Sally K. Albrecht is the Director of School Choral & Classroom Publications for Alfred Publishing. She is a popular choral conductor, composer, and clinician, especially known for her work with choral movement.  Richard McKee has been teaching public school music for twenty-six years. He is currently the music specialist at Acworth Intermediate School in the Cobb County School System. For the past six years he has been an adjunct instructor at Kennesaw State University. He is currently publishing his works through his own publishing company, Cosmic
Possum Music.

It will be such a learning experience for our students to work with two big name composers and a once in a lifetime experience to help commission a work by Sally K Albrecht.  Newton County will be represented well by Fairview Elementary School, Heard-Mixon Elementary School, and Mansfield Elementary School.

The following students and teachers represent Newton County . . .

Fairview Elementary – Will Schmidt, Music Specialist

Alyssa Baker, Alayshia Clark, Aiyana Cooper, Makala Lee, Sharlina Ridley, and Ryan Weaver

Heard-Mixon Elementary – Amy S. Rains, Music Specialist

Claire Bradford, Miranda Cunard, Ashley Mills, Bailey Oller, Lauren Peck, and Kaylin Rowbotham

Mansfield Elementary – Sarah Latimer, Music Specialist

 Hannah Brooker, Taylor Crowe, Chloe Evans, Christopher Gomes, Andrew Pollard, and Damien Russell