2024 YGA State and Region Winners

NCS Writers Excel in Young Georgia Authors Regional and State Competitions
Posted on 06/06/2024
Hawa Sagara state winnerSouth Salem Elementary School student Hawa Sagara, brought home the state’s top award in the 2024 Young Georgia Authors (YGA) Writing Competition, winning first place honors in the fourth-grade contest with her submission, “Coin.”

The YGA writing contest, sponsored by the Georgia Language Art Supervisors and the Georgia RESA Network with support from the Georgia Department of Education, is open to students in grades K-12 and includes all types of writing such as short stories, poetry, essays, research reports and other forms. The purpose of the Young Georgia Authors writing competition is to encourage students to develop enthusiasm for and expertise in their writing, to provide a context to celebrate their writing successes and to recognize student achievement in arts and academics.

In addition to Hawa’s state award, three additional high school students earned top honors in the Regional YGA Writing Competition, including sophomore Victoria Barrett of Newton High School, junior Malorie Jackson from Eastside High School, and senior, Yankiel Garrido from the Alcovy High School and Newton College & Career Academy.

“Congratulations to Hawa Sagara on her outstanding achievement in the 2024 Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition,” said Benjamin Roundtree, Chief Academic Officer of Newton County Schools. “Her first-place win in the state contest is a testament to her talent and dedication. We also extend our congratulations to Victoria Barrett, Malorie Jackson, and Yankiel Garrido for their impressive performances in the Regional YGA Writing Competition. Writing skills are fundamental to academic success and personal growth, and the accomplishments of these students highlight the importance of nurturing these skills. We are incredibly proud of all our students and excited to see what they will achieve in the future.”

“Congratulations to each of our award-winning writers for their remarkable achievements in the Young Georgia Authors Competition,” said Abigail Coggin, School Board Chair of Newton County Schools. “We are incredibly proud of the way these talented students have represented Newton County Schools with their exceptional writing. Their success in both the state and regional competitions showcase the dedication and hard work of our students and educators. We look forward to celebrating their future accomplishments and the continued excellence in writing within our district.”