2020 Quality School Board

Newton County Board of Education Named a 2020 Quality School Board
Posted on 12/15/2020
2020 Quality School Board BadgeNewton County School System is proud to announce that the Newton County Board of Education has been named a 2020 Quality School Board by the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA).

The recognition program is designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership. GSBA recognizes good school board governance to foster educational community cultures in order to advance student learning and achievement.

The Newton County Board of Education met and/or exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of a 2020 Quality Board. The criteria may be reviewed by clicking here for more information.

The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize distinguished leadership.
In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.

“Being named a Quality School Board demonstrates the dedication and commitment of our Board to act on behalf of our students and community,” said Samantha Fuhrey, Superintendent of Newton County School System. “I commend our Board for a job well done.”

Members of the Newton County Board of Education are:

• Mr. Trey Bailey, District 1
• Mr. Eddie Johnson, District 2
• Mrs. Shakila Henderson, District 3 and Board Chair
• Mr. Anderson Bailey, District 4, and
• Mrs. Abigail Coggin, District 5 and Board Vice Chair

For more information, contact Ms. Sherri Davis, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools, at [email protected].

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.