2019-2020 Teachers of the Year Announced

NCSS Announces 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 09/16/2019
Teachers of the Year Group PhotoThe Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2019-2020 school level teachers of the year. These teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2020 Teacher of the Year.

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, September 17, and Wednesday, September 18, each teacher will participate in a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, three finalists will be determined (the teachers with the three highest combined scores). On Tuesday, September 24, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation, will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2020 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 3 at 4:45 p.m.

The Newton County School System would like to congratulate the school-level Teachers of the Year, as they are each worthy of this special honor. As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School and presented with a commemorative plaque from the Coca-Cola Bottling Company. Each of the two runners-up will receive a crystal vase award. The 2020 Newton County Teacher of the Year will receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2020 Teacher of the Year program: Abbey Hospice; Alcovy Media; Athens Orthopedic Clinic; AT&T; BB&T; Beaver Manufacturing; Bridgestone Golf; BD; Covington Ford; Covington News; Fidelity Bank; General Mills; Georgia Connector; GPTC; Ginn Motor Company; Hargray Fiber; High Priority Plumbing; MAU; Newton County Water Authority; Newton Citizen; Newton Federal Bank; Nisshinbo Automotive; Oxford College at Emory University; Piedmont Newton; Pinnacle Bank; Takeda; SKC, Inc.; Snapping Shoals EMC; SteelCo; Sunbelt Builders, Inc.; Synovus; Three Ring; TPA Realty Services; Tread Technologies (Michelin); United Bank of Covington; Wagner Service Solutions; The Center; and Newton College and Career Academy.

2019-2020 Teachers of the Year

2019-2020 Teachers of the Year; This is Alt Text
 East Newton Elementar   Angela Spencer 
 Fairview Elementary Suvarna Naik
 Flint Hill Elementary Dr. Shannon Price
 Heard-Mixon Elementary Tina Hendrix
 Live Oak Elementary Beth Nolan
 Livingston Elementary Jaqerius Bibbs
 Mansfield Elementary Carroll Moss
 Middle Ridge Elementary Brittney Mapp
 Newton County Theme Mindy Alexander
 Oak Hill Elementary Shawanna Fluellen-Wilcher
 Porterdale Elementary Sasha Sanders
 Rocky Plains Elementary Ginger Johnson
 South Salem Elementary Andreana Holmes
 West Newton Elementary Tori Durrett
 Clements Middle Kenrick Barnett
 Cousins Middle Karen Moss
 Indian Creek Middle Dr. Vicki Meeler
 Liberty Middle Alexis Franklin
 Veterans Memorial Middle Jennifer Hollowell
 Alcovy High Eboni Simmons
 Eastside High Betsy Proffitt
 Newton High Shundra Green
 Newton College & Career Academy Charlotte Joy

For more information on the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Davis, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at [email protected].