Fairview Named 2020 Reward School

Fairview Elementary Named a 2019-2020 Title I Reward School by Georgia Department of Education
Posted on 01/09/2020
One male and two female administrators holding Reward School certificateNewton County School System is pleased to announce that Fairview Elementary has been named a 2019-2020 Reward School by the Georgia Department of Education.

Reward Schools are among the greatest-improving 5% of Title I School-wide schools and Title I Targeted Assistance schools. Reward Schools also have to maintain the performance of their economically disadvantaged students, students with disabilities, and English learners to be recognized.

“At the center of everything we do at Fairview is our vision for a positive school climate and loving relationships with our students,” said Dr. LaMoyne Brunson, principal of Fairview Elementary. “Our student body is very diverse, and our staff members respond to the needs of the children in such an amazing way. We really believe in the idea of ‘love your neighbor.’’’

Brunson added, “I am surrounded by talented teachers and support staff who are committed to making school a happy experience for our students. I want to say thank you to each of them and to all the Fairview families who partner with us so that these children can be successful.”

“While we are focused on continuous improvement for all schools, it’s also essential that we recognize when schools are doing well,” said State School Superintendent Richard Woods. “These schools are overcoming barriers, meeting challenges, and producing great gains for their students. I commend the school leaders, teachers, parents and communities in our 2019-20 Distinguished and Reward Schools who are opening up opportunities for their students.”

“Congratulations to Fairview Elementary School on a job well-done,” said Newton County School Superintendent Samantha Fuhrey. “This recognition is a testament to the targeted and detailed work of the students, faculties, and leaders.”

For more information contact Ms. Sherri Davis, director of public relations for Newton County Schools, at [email protected].