2020 NCSS CTAE Students of the Year

NCSS Announces 2020 CTAE Students of the Year
Posted on 02/28/2020
James Wilson, J'Havel Allen with Superintendent Samantha Fuhrey and CTAE Director Dr. Tim SchmittJ’Havel Allen of Veterans Memorial Middle School and James Wilson of Newton College & Career Academy are Newton County School System’s 2020 CTAE (Career, Technical and Agricultural Education) Students of the year! The student winners were announced during the Newton County School System’s 2020 CTAE Student of the Year Awards Ceremony at Porter Performing Arts Center on February 27, 2020. Each year the school system celebrates National CTAE Month by recognizing CTAE Students of the Year from each of the district’s middle and high school programs.

“CTAE students were nominated by their CTAE pathway teachers for their school’s CTAE Student of the Year Award,” explained Debra Lary, work-based learning, youth apprenticeship, and EBI Coordinator for Newton College & Career Academy. “The students then participated in interviews to determine each schools’ pathway CTAE student of the year. Then, each school’s pathway student of the year participated in district interviews to determine both the district pathway student of the year and ultimately the District CTAE Student of the Year.”

CTAE pathways recognized at the annual event included Business Education, Engineering/Technology, Family and Consumer Science, Agriculture Education, CTI, Education, Engineering, Business Education/IT, Health Science/Bio Tech, Marketing, Nutrition/Food, ROTC, Skilled Trades, Video/Graphics, and Work-Based Learning.

Middle school district winners this year included:

• Agriculture Education Award: Sam Kennon, Indian Creek Middle School
• Business Education Award: Anna Underwood, Indian Creek Middle School
• Engineering/Technology Award: Mason Kinard, Cousins Middle School
• Family and Consumer Science Award: J’Havel Allen, Veterans Memorial Middle School

At the high school level, district winners included:

• Agriculture Education Award: Jacob Hammond, Eastside High School
• Business Education/IT Award: Natalia Sanchez, Newton College & Career Academy
• CTI Award: Ezareona Sheppard, Alcovy High School
• Education Award: Ameericle Sanders, Newton College & Career Academy
• Engineering Award: Dasia Hill, Newton High School
• Health Science/Bio Tech Award: Taneil Gordon, Newton College & Career Academy
• Marketing Award: Nykirra Norman, Newton College & Career Academy
• Nutrition/Food Award: Cameron White, Alcovy High School
• ROTC Award: Kijana Knights, Newton High School
• Skilled Trades Award: Phillip Andrew Brown, Newton College & Career Academy
• Video/Graphics Award: Laura-Jean Dole, Newton College & Career Academy
• Work-Based Learning Award: James Wilson, Newton College & Career Academy

In addition to recognizing CTAE students, the district also presented the 2020 Work-Based Learning Employer of the Year Award to Chick-fil-A.

“Our CTAE students never cease to amaze me,” said Dr. Tim Schmitt, NCSS Director of CTAE and Workforce Innovation. “We have a great group across all our schools and pathways and those highlighted at the Awards Night are the best of the best.”

He added, “It doesn’t take long, as you talk to these upcoming leaders, to know Newton County is well positioned to continue to lead the state in Economic Development and workforce talent. I’m honored to be a part of it!”