2022-2023 Teachers of the Year

NCSS Announces 2022-2023 School-Level Teachers of the Year
Posted on 09/19/2022
Teachers of the Year Group PictureThe Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2022-2023 school level teachers of the year. These teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2023 Teacher of the Year.

Teachers of the Year-group photo
(Not pictured: Becky Smallwood, Mansfield Elementary)

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, September 20, and Wednesday, September 21, each teacher will participate in a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, three finalists will be determined (the teachers with the three highest combined scores). On Tuesday, September 27, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom setting. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation, will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2023 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 6, 2022, at 4:45 p.m.

The Newton County School System would like to congratulate the school-level Teachers of the Year, as they are each worthy of this special honor. As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School and presented with a commemorative plaque from the Coca-Cola Bottling Company. Each of the two runners-up will receive a crystal award from the Newton County Chamber of Commerce. The 2023 Newton County Teacher of the Year will receive a crystal award and check for $1,000 from the Chamber of Commerce. Newton County School System will also provide a monetary award for each of the school system’s 23 Teachers of the Year. The Newton County School System 2023 Teacher of the Year will represent the district in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible without the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2023 Teacher of the Year program: Truist; Covington Ford; Edgar Law Firm; Ginn Motor Company; Georgia Piedmont Technical College; Hargray; Main Street Land & Properties; Newton College & Career Academy; Nisshinbo Automotive; Qualified Staffing; Sunbelt Builders, Inc.; The Center (Newton County Tomorrow); Bridgestone Golf; Covington Newspaper; High Priority Plumbing; Newton County IDA; Newton County Water & Sewer; Northside; SKC, Inc.; BD; General Mills; Keenan Media; Meta; Newton County; Newton Federal Bank; Piedmont Newton; Snapping Shoals EMC; United Bank of Covington; Universal Planning & Development; Abbey Hospice; AT&T; Beaver Manufacturing; City of Covington; Dualdeko; MAU Workforce Solutions; Oxford College; Pinnacle Bank; SteelCo; Synovus; Takeda; and Tread Technologies (Michelin).

2022-2023 Teachers of the Year
 SCHOOL   Teacher of the Year
East Newton Elementary   Blake Alexander
Fairview Elementary   Lisa Allgood
Flint Hill Elementary   Juli-ette Goldston
Heard-Mixon Elementary   Angie Craver
Live Oak Elementary   Simone Lawrence
Livingston Elementary   Shameka Smith
Mansfield Elementary   Becky Smallwood
Middle Ridge Elementary   Stacy Jaime
Newton County Theme School   Amanda Kirkham
Oak Hill Elementary   Ana Escorza
Porterdale Elementary   Taya Combs
Rocky Plains Elementary   Jill Rodriguez
South Salem Elementary   Brenda Shepherd
West Newton Elementary   Tiffany Pinnock
Clements Middle   Tomeka Daugherty
Cousins Middle   Tawanna Griffin
Indian Creek Middle   Adrian Stone
Liberty Middle   Nicole Foster
Veterans Memorial Middle   Tonique Robinson
Alcovy High   Bobby Maddox
Eastside High   Kayla Stoddard
Newton High   Demetrice Perry-Stokes
Newton College & Career Academy   Laura Lambert

For more information on the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Partee, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at [email protected].