Dr. Cecily Gunter 2024 TOTY

Dr. Cecily Gunter Named NCSS 2024 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 09/28/2023
Dr. Cecily Gunter Newton College & Career Academy agriculture education teacher, Dr. Cecily Gunter, is Newton County School System’s 2024 Teacher of the Year! She will now represent Newton County Schools in the Georgia Teacher of the Year Program. Dr. Gunter's prizes included $1,000 cash and a crystal vase from the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, $500 cash from Covington Ford, and a dozen red roses.

Ms. Jenica Brittingham of Alcovy High School and Ms. Kimberly Ralston of Livingston Elementary School were this year’s runners up. They each received a crystal award from the Newton County Chamber of Commerce.

“This is such a big honor,” said Dr. Gunter. “There’s amazing teachers in Newton County and great things are happening in classrooms every day. It’s just a tremendous honor. I’m just speechless right now.”

Dr. Gunter has taught agricultural education at Newton College & Career Academy since 2017. She began her career in education when she joined the Newton County School System team as an agriculture teacher at Alcovy High School in 2012. She earned her Bachelor of Science & Arts degree in Agricultural Education from the University of Georgia and her Master’s Degree in Agricultural Education from Murray State University. In 2021, Gunter earned her Doctor of Education degree in P20 and Community Leadership, also from Murray State University. She is currently in the process of earning additional certifications in Educational Leadership and Teacher Leader Endorsement.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible without the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2024 Teacher of the Year program: Abbey Hospice; Archer Aviation; AT&T; BD; Beaver Manufacturing; Newton County Board of Commissioners; Bridgestone; City of Covington; Clearwave Fiber; Dualdeko; Edgar Law Firm; General Mills; Georgia United Credit Union; Ginn; Georgia Piedmont Technical College; High Priority Plumbing; Keenan Media; Longleaf Hospice; Main Street Land & Properties; Meta; Michelin; Newton County Water & Sewer Authority; Newton County IDA; Newton Federal; Nisshinbo; Northside; Oxford College; Piedmont Newton; Pinnacle Bank; SKC; Snapping Shoals EMC; SteelCo; Sunbelt Builders; Synovus; Takeda; The Center; The Covington News; Truist; and United Bank.

For more information on the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Partee, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at [email protected].