2019 CTAE Awards

NCSS Announces 2019 CTAE Students of the Year
Posted on 03/15/2019
Students of the Year with AdministratorsChelsea Williams of Liberty Middle School and Ava Jane Teasley of Eastside High School are Newton County School System’s 2019 CTAE (Career, Technical and Agricultural Education) Students of the year! The student winners were announced during the Newton County School System’s 2019 CTAE Student of the Year reception at Porter Performing Arts Center on February 28, 2019. Each year the school system celebrates National CTAE Month by recognizing CTAE Students of the Year from each of the district’s middle and high school programs.

“CTAE students were nominated by their CTAE pathway teachers for their school’s CTAE Student of the Year Award,” explained Debra Lary, work-based learning, youth apprenticeship, and EBI Coordinator for Newton College & Career Academy. “The students then participated in interviews to determine each schools’ pathway CTAE student of the year. Then, each school’s pathway student of the year participated in district interviews to determine both the district pathway student of the year and ultimately the District CTAE Student of the Year.”

CTAE pathways recognized at the annual event included Business Education, Engineering/Technology, Family and Consumer Science, Agriculture Education, CTI, Education, Engineering, Business Education/IT, Health Science/Bio Tech, Marketing, Nutrition/Food, ROTC, Skilled Trades, Video/Graphics, and Work-Based Learning.

Middle school district winners this year included:

• Business Education Award: Chelsea Williams, Liberty Middle School
• Engineering/Technology Award: Kevin Dorsett, Veterans Memorial Middle School
• Family and Consumer Science Award: Tristian Houston, Liberty Middle School
• Agriculture Education Award: Cindy Ramos-Ayala, Indian Creek Middle School

At the high school level, district winners included:

• Agriculture Education Award: Ava Jane Teasley, Eastside High School
• Business Education/IT Award: Christopher Black, Newton High School
• CTI Award: Charles Wilkins, Alcovy High School
• Education Award: Kendall Allen, Newton High School
• Engineering Award: Miranda Litkea, Newton College & Career Academy
• Health Science/Bio Tech Award: Allison Mowatt
• Marketing Award: Madison Bradford, Newton College & Career Academy
• Nutrition/Food Award: Triniti Brown, Newton College & Career Academy
• ROTC Award: Scott Evritt, Newton High School
• Skilled Trades Award: Malichi Colin
• Video/Grahics Award: Hezekiah Malit, Newton College & Career Academy
• Work-Based Learning Award: Karli Buckelew, Newton College & Career Academy

In addition to recognizing CTAE students, the district also presented the 2019 Work-Based Learning Employer of the Year Award to the Arts Association of Newton County.

“Our CTAE students never cease to amaze me,” said Dr. Tim Schmitt, NCSS Director of CTAE and Workforce Innovation. “We have a great group across all our schools and pathways and those highlighted at the Awards Night are the best of the best.”

He added, “It doesn’t take long, as you talk to these upcoming leaders, to know Newton County is well positioned to continue to lead the state in Economic Development and workforce talent. I’m honored to be a part of it!”