Georgia Driver Education Law

“Joshua’s Law” requires all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver’s license to complete an approved driver education course AND complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian’s sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met. As of July 1, 2021, Joshua’s Law driver training is now added to the list of requirements for 17-year-olds to complete prior to being issued a Class D driver’s license.

Visit the Georgia Driver's Education website for more information.

Click here for the Electronic Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program.