NCSS Announces 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year

NCSS Announces 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 09/17/2018
Teachers of the YearThe Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2018-2019 school level teachers of the year. These teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2019 Teacher of the Year. 

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, September 18, and Wednesday, September 19, each teacher will participate in a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations. 

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, three finalists will be determined (the teachers with the three highest combined scores). On Tuesday, September 25, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation, will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2019 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 4 at 4:45 p.m.

The Newton County School System would like to congratulate the school-level Teachers of the Year, as they are each worthy of this special honor. As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School and presented with a commemorative plaque from the Coca-Cola Bottling Company. Each of the two runners-up will receive a crystal vase award. The 2018 Newton County Teacher of the Year will receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program. 

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2018 Teacher of the Year program: AT&T, Bank of North Georgia, BB&T, Beaver Manufacturing, Bridgestone Golf, C.R. Bard, Covington Ford, Covington News, General Mills, Georgia Connector, Georgia Piedmont Technical College, Georgia Power Company, Great Estates Landscaping, McMichael’s Construction, Newton County Water & Sewer Authority, Newton Citizen, Newton Federal Bank, Nisshinbo Automotive, Piedmont Newton, Pinnacle Bank, Shire, SKC, Inc., Snapping Shoals EMC, Sunbelt Builders, Three Ring Studios, TPA Realty Services, Tread Technologies (Michelin), United Bank of Covington, Wagner Service Solutions, The Center, Newton College & Career Academy, and THP Creative Group. 

2018-2019 Teachers of the Year
  • East Newton Elementary      Alisha Durand
  • Fairview Elementary Kimberly Lane
  • Flint Hill Elementary Kim McSwain
  • Heard-Mixon Elementary Christina Smith
  • Live Oak Elementary Karen Prather
  • Livingston Elementary Donna Nelson
  • Mansfield Elementary Jennifer Allen
  • Newton County Theme Katie Sauls
  • Oak Hill Elementary Amy Standard
  • Porterdale Elementary Nafeesah Muhammad
  • Rocky Plains Elementary Linda Hammond
  • South Salem Elementary Kim D. Mills
  • West Newton Elementary Stacie Rogers
  • Clements Middle DaMiale Johnson
  • Cousins Middle Trisha Harper
  • Indian Creek Middle Deborah Peterson
  • Liberty Middle Felicia Hodges
  • Veterans Memorial Mid. Cliff Roberts
  • Alcovy High Alexandrea Boyington
  • Eastside High Beth Bowman
  • Newton High Lewis Kelly
  • Newton College & Career Ac. Scott Quinlan
For more information on the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year program, contact Ms. Sherri Davis, Director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at [email protected]